e-Texas Online, not in line.
null Home Events News Hearings Contact


Asset & Financial Management
Competitive Government
Education (K-16)
Environment/Natural Resources
Government Performance
Health Care & Human Services
Human Resource Management
Legislative Advisory Group
Local Government Empowerment
Public Safety & Corrections
Regulatory Reform


Window on State Government

News Release

Comptroller Carole Keeton Rylander Names 19
to e-Texas Legislative Advisory Committee

(Austin)--Texas Comptroller Carole Keeton Rylander is partnering with 19 legislators who will advise the e-Texas commission, her citizen committee that will transform Texas government from its traditional bricks and mortar foundation to a national technological leader that uses bytes, chips and satellite airwaves to deliver services.

"In our effort to recommend ways for Texas government to cost less, provide better service, and be more responsive to the citizens who pay for it, we must have the advice and counsel of lawmakers to realize these goals," Comptroller Rylander said. "I'm confident these able legislators will be an integral part of the e-Texas team."

Sen. Robert Duncan, R-Lubbock, is the Legislative Advisory Committee's commissioner.

"I share Comptroller Rylander's vision of smaller, smarter government and I am committed to the success of e-Texas," Sen. Duncan said. "I think we can get state government ready for the age of the Internet and e-Texas is the way to get us there."

At the initiative kickoff in November, she also introduced the e-Texas co-chairmen: Dr. Wendy Lee Gramm, The Honorable Thomas G. Loeffler and Hector De Leon, in addition to the 13 commissioners who will lead various e-Texas task forces.

The following senators have agreed to serve on the advisory committee: Ken Armbrister, D-Victoria; John Carona, R-Dallas; Rodney Ellis, D-Houston; Eddie Lucio, D-Brownsville; Bill Ratliff, R-Mt. Pleasant; and Florence Shapiro, R-Plano.

Representatives serving are: Jaime Capelo Jr., D-Corpus Christi; Wayne Christian, R-Center; Henry Cuellar, D-Laredo; Yvonne Davis, D-Dallas; Dianne White Delisi, R-Temple; Peggy Hamric, R-Houston; Carl Isett, R-Lubbock; Rob Junell, D-San Angelo; Brian McCall, R-Plano; Rep. Anna Mowery, R-Ft. Worth; Jim Pitts, R-Waxahachie; and Barry Telford, D-DeKalb.

The e-Texas commission will hold public hearings and focus groups in the coming months to assist with the Comptroller's goal of having Texas government accessible 24-hours-a-day, 7-days-a-week.

Follow e-Texas' progress at www.e-Texas.org.


e-Texas is an initiative of Carole Keeton Rylander, Texas Comptroller of Public Accounts
Post Office Box 13528, Capitol Station
Austin, Texas

Privacy Policy
State of Texas Home Page Statewide Search from the Texas State Library